My Children And Me.

POEM: TWO.

There rides demons in my head,
I know it now,
they are rooted deep beneath the surface,
riding on my horses,
they do sleep too,
in the day time,
when everyone is awake,
they are at their peace.
But once the sun starts going down,
they began their yawn,
literate they are,
do everything as do we,
gets out of their beds, as the sun goes down,
then slowly and being lazy, does their chores,
whatever it is that they do,
when once everyone is asleep
they began their day,
trying to manage as much mischief in the hour,
they hold the reins of me,
for years,
that has scared me,
till today,
but today,
I see it differently,
I know that they exist,
and I know they won’t go away,
they are mine too,
born inside of me,
who knows how long it took for me to conceive them,
but it seems as if I am their mother,
born of my blood,
inside of head,
ruling my realms,
they are indeed my children,
my family,
and who turns away from family,
now that they are born,
and they are mine,
I began to realize,
that they are not so wrong,
just some lonely souls,
who beg to be loved,
what if the people made it so,
that demons are all monsters,
and that all monsters are bad,
what if the people are the culprit,
who so scared to share their love,
deemed them bad,
an unaccounted fate,
traveling from time and times ago,
is a legacy for the times to come,
for the love we bare for our elders,
we dare not question,
their judgment of our demons,
today,
now that I’ve had them,
its time to stand by my own,
demons are what we really are,
our true faces,
our true desires,
so, what if they hold my reins,
and that I act a little out of order,
at least, I’m pure.
so. I let them have it,
I let my demons out in the garden,
at night times,
my insomnia is not for the ones I’ve lost,
it’s for the love the bore my demons,
I’ve began to like them,
who know, I might love them too,
after all,
they are mine,
they are me.

-Naba Mehdi.

Leave a Reply

