Of To The Other Side

You see the picture? I want you to really look at it and keep it in mind for what I am about to say. It’s a beautiful picture isn’t it? It’s mind-blowing. I’ve been to this place and did my best to capture it. A path of water flowing between the paths of rocks.

All in a beautiful place. Everything perfect and in place. The air and the silent and peace, almost as heaven on Earth.

Now I want you to go to the depths of your imagination and think of the running water as the Homo sapiens. Those who breathe air in and out. The Humans. Take the rocks also as humans but only those who don’t live with us anymore, the hard shells buried beneath us, those who when hit us hurt us in places we can’t possibly imagine.

Life isn’t really solid, it keeps changing making it water that flows no matter what towards it destination. Death is solid, rocks are what we become when we are dead.

Now the water is running from south to north with pressure at some point and calmly at others. For a time being think of this picture as Earth with its inhabitants.

Now for those who are not familiar with the movie the book of life, the concept there is that once we are dead there are two worlds we departure to. Those who are remembered after their deaths make it to the land of remembered and those who have no one who’d remember them over their death are thrown into the land of forgotten. I am also going to use this concept only bending it a little. The rocks on the dry side are the dead souls forgotten over period of time. The one in the stream of water are praised souls whose loved one remember them by taking from their experience and example. For detailing, the bigger the size of rock the bigger a human they were. Also those who are have in and out of water are the infamous of us, who most people know.

We, people keep on flowing in the direction of water, fleeing with difficulties but all in uniformity. No one dare fall out of uniformity, it does make you look good and strong. I stand at one side of scarcely allowing myself to dream the dreams of walking the stream from east to west instead of south to north. Standing out takes courage and a lot of thinking, planning and that’s what I do. I am opposing the majority which if I fail may lead in my termination.

After some time in mind palace, I step in. The pressure and waves are low-lying, for people on the edges are just insomniacs trying to fit in and miserably failing. I move on, step by step, baby steps, displacing but finding my courage, passing all the bodyguards towards the authority in the middle with the power. Almost every second i gave up but touching the rocks beneath me for balance and example from their lives. The lessons they died teaching us. I make it to the middle where the water is flowing with pressure making it almost impossible for me to cross, splashing me with magnetic fields towards its direction. It’s hard now. Like hitting one of those points in life when everything comes crashing down on you, when it’s almost impossible to make out of it alive. The live reasons of depressions, the life ‘problems’, the real life. This is what I thought while standing in those chains of water pulling me towards them. That what if this is real life, all this in my surrounding. About how life and society makes you bend at their will and make you do what they want you do what their limited brains go to the limit of achieving and don’t let you do what you want to do, don’t let you break the uniformity. I thought this is real life and they were stopping me from doing what I want to do with peer pressure and blackmail and emotions and if I couldn’t cross this small water and then maybe I can’t really face lie and all that it has to offer and I pulled myself forwards, breaking free of the chains, facing problems right on head and before I knew I made it! I solved a life problem, standing in the middle of it and making my way through it from there.

The smile I had once I was on the other side was beautiful and wide I could feel it embarking in of me. The peace of breaking out of the uniformity and exploring something new. I made to a new world, a raw one but a new place nonetheless.

It was something no one knew about and I didn’t care. You don’t tell everyone how you make life into something new.

It is just the beginning, I know  more had yet to come. Bigger streams with more everything, water and rocks and pressure but for that precise moment, I had it easy, I was a free bird with wings spread out ready to rejoice in the victory.

What I did next?
Took the flight and had peace of mind

-Naba Mehdi

6 thoughts on “Of To The Other Side

Leave a Reply

